New Year Resolutions

Happy 2017!

My Resolution is simple this year: enjoy the moments as they come

2016 was one of the best years of my life, while simultaneously one of the hardest. The paradigm between feeling so isolated and yet so supported. Feeling so heartbroken and yet so loved. It’s been a whirlwind of emotions to say the least.

One thing I’m seriously guilty of is not living in the moment enough. I’m always planning my next project, next adventure, next something. My goal for 2017 is to slow down and enjoy each day as it comes. I want to enjoy nights like tonight–watching Modern Family by the fire with my cute morkie and amazing husband.

I want to enjoy family dinners, snow days, ice skate adventures, day trips to lighthouses, ice cream dates with friends, playtime with the chickens. I want to take a step back and be happy with what I have instead of wishing for more. Appreciate each moment.

With that being said, I can’t promise I will stop planning adventures. Traveling is my therapy and also my biggest weakness. I can’t stress how incredibly lucky I was in 2016 in the travel department. Although my bank account has taken a serious turn for the worse, my travel rewards points were put into action. A few big highlights include:

img_4824Long weekend trip to Sanibel Island, Florida with my mother in law (sad I don’t have a picture of us together..idk how we let that happen) the weather was a bit chilly but we found the most amazing shells, saw a pelican saved by a Good Samaritan, and found SO many dolphins manatees!img_4820 Another long weekend trip to Maryland to visit college friends. And of course eat some crab pretzels. 🦀

img_2016Weekend trip to Long Beach island, New Jersey 🏖

img_2005Over the summer Ryan and I were soooo lucky to be able to go to Alaska. We flew into Anchorage and used a rental car to take a road trip to Seward and up to Denali. We stayed at a few seriously suspect air bnbs but had so much fun. It was a trip highlighted by moose and beluga whales. Soooo amazing!

img_2009Taking advantage of the fact Cape Cod is only a few hours away, a road trip from Sandwich to Chatham to Ptown proved to be beautiful. And of course a trip to Sundae School 🍦

Another long weekend (seeing a trend with the weekends) to Disney and Harry Potter world in Florida with Ryan’s parents, his brother, and brother’s girlfriend. We stayed at the animal kingdom hotel which was legit the coolest hotel I’ve ever stayed at..ever!

And last but not least we took an extra-long weekend to Iceland. It was a trip filled with lava fields, hot springs, and northern light hunting.

**disclaimer, I’m not going to lie, putting these pictures up back to back makes me feel beyond spoiled. Many of these trips were booked through travel points, discounted airfares via intense stalking of websites, sketchy air bnb adventures, and the generosity of my in-laws**

So long 2016, it’s been incredible.

This year I intend to enjoy each day, no matter how mondane or exciting it may seem.

Wishing you all a 2017 half as relaxing as this picture of Romeo!! Xoxoimg_2019

Leave a Reply

